New Year’s Resolution: Frothy Style…

So, I had vowed I wouldn’t be making New Year’s Resolution’s this year. For the past few years, my resolutions had been steeped in misogyny and self-hatred, masked as self improvement. I mean, losing that two stone it’d take to get back into my favourite dress wouldn’t make me happier, nor would it make me a better person. But Christmas this year has been, to say the least, stressful. And to my twitter followers, I’d like to say a quick “sorry” for all the rants, and “thanks” for all the support that came as a result. But amongst the stress, and the misogynistic/homophobic/other slurs from my family, and mainly my parents, I found myself thinking. I do have resolutions. I’d just chose to say that there were none when asked, purely to retain the peace for a little longer.

So here goes.

  1. I will be more active in my feminism. As of yet, I’ve struggled with being too active in my feminism. I’m stuck in a small town, and grow increasingly concerned on a regular basis that I’m the only feminist in the area. In order to deal with this, I’ll be doing what I can to make it to marches, conferences and what not… I will be seen somewhere outside of my postcode, at some point before Reclaim The Night.
  2. I will continue working on my novel. And I will get it bloody published. Honest. This is the year I attempt to make it as a writer to some degree.
  3. I will strive towards my goal of working in a position where I can support women. I’ll be starting my counselling course in February, and from there,alongside a voluntary position, I plan to aim for a career in which I’ll be able to support women in one way or another.
  4. I will write more frequently. I’ve finally got certain things under control, and have  no excuse not to write more often. At the very least, I strive to blog at least once a week.

So there you have it. Four New Year’s Resolutions that I can keep, that don’t involve compromising who I am. And they’re a damn sight easier to stick to than the plans to squeeze into THAT dress…

3 thoughts on “New Year’s Resolution: Frothy Style…

  1. Started reading your blog and came across your resolutions. They are indeed achievable and I hope you are having success with all of them. I’ll be reading more of your writing here. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

